• katie@northstaralliance.org.uk
  • 01423 226389

North Star network groups are an opportunity for subject leaders to:

    • Share practice across curriculum subjects and to support leadership development.
    • Promote innovation and creativity in thinking about practice.
    • Provide a supportive environment that respects the confidentiality of what is shared.
    • Create a vision for reform and progress.
    • Promote shared ownership.
    • Update the knowledge and skills of all members.
    • Share ideas that challenge teachers rather than just prescribe.

There are currently network groups in Maths, English, SEND and Early Years. From September 2016, the four networks have been broken down into five regional groups, with each network sharing a network lead, who will support the groups and ensure consistency across them. Each school has been allocated a regional group, but teachers may choose which regional group they would like to attend. We simply ask that once you have committed to a group, you stay with that group.

Please register below now to secure your place at the Subject-Leader Conference for your network

To launch the network groups for 2017-8, we will be holding conferences for each of the different networks, supported by nationally recognised experts in the field. As well as an opportunity to access high-quality training, these conferences will be a time for North Star and Polaris subject leaders to celebrate all the work that has been achieved in the regional groups, to network and share as a wider group and to discuss key priorities and plan for 2017-8.

English Subject-Leader Conference, Tuesday 26 September, 9am to 12, Burn Hall

With special guest Katherine Saunders. Katherine is a national consultant who will be focusing on SOLO and its application in English. This will include looking at SOLO as a useful framework for helping teachers plan for challenge and think about surface and deep learning.

Maths Subject-Leader Conference, Tuesday 26 September, 1pm to 3pm, Burn Hall

With special guest Katherine Saunders. Katherine is a national consultant who will be focusing on SOLO and its application in mathematics. This will include looking at SOLO as a useful framework for helping teachers plan for challenge and think about surface and deep learning.

EYFS Subject-Leader Conference, Thursday 5 October, 9am to 3pm, Burn Hall

With special guest Anna Ephgrave, sharing her highly successful ‘in the moment’ pedagogy. The day will enable EYFS leaders to develop the knowledge of how this exciting approach to early years can be implemented to improve outcomes for children.

SEND Subject-Leader Conference, Thursday 21 September, 9am to 3pm, Burn Hall

With special guest Jenny Nock, who specialises in delivering training in Attachment and Trauma, Autistic Spectrum conditions, Down Syndrome and a range of other SENDs in mainstream and special settings She will be speaking on the theme of ‘It’s Good to Talk Empowering and Connecting with Children and Young People who are Hurting’ .

 

If you have any questions with regards to your network please contact the network lead directly;

English – Kelly Ashley – kellyashleyconsultancy@outlook.com

Maths – Kerry Dalton – headteacher@roecliffe.n-yorks.sch.uk

SEND – Anna Chamberlain – chamberlain@selby-pri.n-yorks.sch.uk

EYFS – Helen Davenport or Alison Somerville- hdavenport79@live.co.uk

a.somerville@topcliffeacademy.org

Networks 2017-2018

English Networks

Group Subject Leader Conference Spring 2

Network Meeting

Summer 2

Network Meeting

Central A19 ALL GROUPS

Tuesday 26 Sept
2017
9am – 12 noon
Burn Hall Hotel
Tollerton Road, Huby, York YO61 1JB

Mon 5 March
1pm- 3.30pm
Forest of Galtres School
Mon 2 July
1pm- 3.30pm
Husthwaite School
Central A1 Tues 6 March
1pm- 3.30pm
Marton-cum-Grafton CE School
Weds 4 July
1pm- 3.30pm
Aspin Park Academy
North Tues 27 February
1pm- 3.30pm
Knayton
Mon 25 June
1pm- 3.30pm
Romanby School
East Mon 26 February
1pm- 3.30pm
St Joseph’s
Wed 27 June
1pm- 3.30pm
Kirkbymoorside School
South Mon 12 March
1pm- 3.30pm
Fairburn CP
Mon 9 July
1pm- 3.30pm
Fairburn CP

Maths Networks

Group Subject Leader Conference Spring 1

Network Meeting

Summer 1

Network Meeting

Central A19 ALL GROUPS

Tuesday 26 Sept
2017
1pm – 4pm
Burn Hall Hotel
Tollerton Road, Huby, York YO61 1JB

Tues 16 January
1pm- 3pm
Huby CE School
Mon 21 May
1pm- 3pm
Forest of Galtres School
Central A1 Weds 24 January
1pm- 3pm
Meadowside Academy
Weds 2 May
1pm- 3pm
Marton-cum-Grafton CE School
North Tues 23 January
1pm- 3pm
Knayton
Mon 30 April
1pm- 3pm
Sowerby
East Weds 17 January
1pm- 3pm
Amotherby School
Weds 9 May
1pm- 3pm
St Mary’s Malton
South Mon 29 January
1pm- 3pm
Hensall
Tues 8 May
1pm- 3pm
Hensall

SEND Networks

Group Subject Leader Conference Autumn 2

Network Meeting

Spring 2 

Network Meeting

Summer 2

Network Meeting

Central A19 ALL GROUPS

Thursday 21 September
2017
9am to 3pm
Burn Hall Hotel
Tollerton Road, Huby, York YO61 1JB

Web 5th Dec
1pm- 3pm
Forest of Galtres
Fri 16th March
1pm- 3pm
Tues 19th June
1pm- 3pm
Central A1 Thurs 7th Dec
1pm- 3pm
Kirby Hill
Fri 2nd March
1pm- 3pm
Aspin Park Academy
Fri 22nd June
1pm- 3pm
Meadowside Academy
North Fri 8th Dec
1pm- 3pm
Romanby
Fri 23rd March
1pm- 3pm
Sowerby
Fri 6th July
1pm- 3pm
TBC
East Fri 1st Dec
1pm- 3pm
Kirkbymoorside School
Thurs 8th March
1pm- 3pm
Amotherby School
Thurs 21st June
1pm- 3pm
TBC
South Fri 24th Nov
1pm- 3pm
Selby Abbey CofE
Fri 9th March
1pm- 3pm
Selby Abbey CofE
Fri 15th June
1pm- 3pm
Selby Abbey CofE

EYFS Networks

Group Subject Leader Conference Autumn 2

Network Meeting

Spring 1

Network Meeting

Spring 2 

Network Meeting

Summer 1

Network Meeting

Summer 2

Network Meeting

Central A19 ALL GROUPS

Anna Ephgrave ‘in the moment’ EYFS training

Thursday 5 October
2017
9am to 3pm
Burn Hall Hotel
Tollerton Road, Huby, York YO61 1JB

Fri 10 Nov
1pm- 3pm
Huby CE School
Fri 26 January
1pm- 3pm
Huby CE School
Fri 16 March
1pm- 3pm
Huby CE School
Fri 11 May
1pm- 3pm
Huby CE School
Fri 22 June
1pm- 3pm
Forest of Galtres CE School
Central A1 Fri 17 Nov
1pm- 3pm
Marton-cum-Grafton CE School
Weds 31 January
1pm- 3pm
Aspin Park Academy
Thurs 22 March
1pm- 3pm
Aspin Park Academy
Wed 2 May
1pm- 3pm
THIS DATE HAS BEEN CANCELLED
Wed 27 June
1pm- 3pm
Meadowside Academy
North Fri 10 Nov
1pm- 3pm
Sowerby
Fri 2 Feb
1pm- 3pm
Topcliffe
Fri 16 March
1pm- 3pm
Romanby
Fri 11 May
1pm- 3pm
TBC
Fri 22 June
1pm- 3pm
TBC
East Fri 17 Nov
1pm- 3pm
St Mary’s – Malton
Fri 26 January
1pm- 3pm
St Joseph’s RC School – Pickering
Fri 23 March
1pm- 3pm
St Joseph’s, Pickering
Fri 4 May
1pm- 3pm
TBC
Fri 29 June
1pm- 3pm
TBC
South  Fri 27 April
1pm- 3pm
Hensall